Excellence in Business Awards

2017 Excellence in Business Awards nomination now open!

Updated forms that can be completed online will be available soon. In the meantime, feel free to download a form and complete it the “old fashioned way.” Either way, we look forward to your submission(s) for this year’s Excellence in Business Awards.

award polaroid-04-04-04-04-04

Technology Company of the Year Award Sponsor:

Sponsored by: Homeland Manufacturing Services

(Download nomination form here.)

Start-Up Company of the Year Sponsor:

Sponsored by: Ben Franklin Technology Partners

(Download nomination form here.)

Corporate/Community Impact Award Sponsor:

Sponsored by: FirstEnergy

(Download nomination form here.)

Business Leader of the Year Award Sponsor:

Sponsored by: Miller, Kistler, & Campbell

(Download nomination form here.)

Young Professional of the Year:

Sponsored by: CPI Foundation

(Download nomination form here.)

Small Business of the Year Sponsor:

Sponsored by: First National Bank

(Download nomination form here.)

 A look back at the 2016 honorees

Presenting Sponsor:



Technology Company of the Year

This award recognizes a company with innovative products and services that are driving growth and contributing to industry advances.

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
AccuWeather, Inc.

Small Business of the Year – Retail, Professional Service, Restaurant/Caterer

This award recognizes standout businesses in the retail, service/professional service, restaurant/catering or hospitality/recreation industries with 50 or fewer employees.

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
Goodco Mechanical

Entrepreneur of the Year

This award recognizes an individual that through his/her business or place of employment, and/or community engagement, exemplifies the spirit of entrepreneurship and innovation, and serves as a champion of the county’s entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
DiamondBack Truck Covers

Visionary Company of the Year

This award recognizes a forward-thinking company that places special emphasis on creating a corporate culture that positively impacts employees and the community, or an individual that through his/her business and/or community involvement is contributing greatly to local quality of life initiatives.

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
West Arete

Business Leader of the Year

The winner will be a business leader/company president or CEO who is highly respected by both peers and competitors, admired and followed by employees, trusted by investors, and welcomed by the community.

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
John Bonislawski
Homeland Manufacturing Company

Connect Young Professional of the Year 

This award recognizes a local young professional (35 or younger) that, over the past year, has made a significant impact on the young professional community and the community at large, and has demonstrated a dedication to creating a vibrant community that attracts and retains YPs.

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
A. Christian Baum

An independent panel of local business and community leaders selected the finalists and winners, which were recognized at the Vision Dinner. The CBICC also selected the recipients of the awards of: 

Local Economic Development Champion

Sponsored by:

And the winner is…
Tom Fountaine
State College Borough

Impact Award

And the winner is…


Dr. Joel Myers
AccuWeather, Inc.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s